Homestead-Miami Speedway 🏁 NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs

NASCAR Cup Series Final destination

Ford Championship Weekend

By: Julio Olmo

The weekend’s festivals-parties at Homestead-Miami Speedway, mark the finale of the Monster Energy NASCAR Series.

The weekend festivities from November 15th through November 17th will super charge fans and drivers equally.

Fans of all ages will have the opportunity to unite at the parties to watch the best drivers in the world battle each other, which culminates with the Ford EcoBoost 400.

Every November the best NASCAR drivers meet in Florida for the championship race.

NASCAR’s Playoffs boil down to this moment.

Drivers will be instructed to start their engines at 2:54 pm EST, followed by the green flag at 3:03 pm EST and 267 laps around the 1.5-mile Homestead-Miami Speedway for a total of 400 miles later, a champion will be crown.

It sounds simple ’till you factor in that the average lap car speed is over 200 MPH and there are multiple other variables-scenarios before be last driver standing in Victory Lane accepts the trophy.

Through the years, the Homestead Miami Speedway has awarded championship cups to racers like Tony Stewart, Jimmie Johnson, Dario Franchitti, Ron Hornaday, Jr., and Austin Dillon.

All throughout the 2018 season, three drivers dominated the races.

Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, and Martin Truex Jr. dubbed the BIG 3.

All of them advanced to Homestead to compete for the title, with Joey Logano being the fourth driver and underdog to win the title.

Truex Jr. looked like he was going to win it two years in a row in his final race for Furniture Row Motorsports, but a late caution flag with less than 20 laps left spoiled his bit as a desperate Kyle Busch, who was off sequence, used the break to make a move.

Joey Logano’s crew got him out second behind Busch, and on the restart zipped past Busch but not before Truex did.

With 12 laps to go, he closed in and got around Truex Jr. with a power move on the outside to pull away to the win and his first Cup championship six years to the day his teammate Brad Keselowski won his.

Not only was it the fifth-straight year the driver won the race and title, but all four Championship 4 drivers swept the Top 4 finishing positions: Logano-1st, Truex Jr.-2nd, Harvick-3rd, and Kyle Busch-4th.

Joey Logano also led a race-high 80 laps to become the first driver to lead the most laps and win the race since Carl Edwards back in 2010.

In 2020, the race will be held in mid-March, meaning it will no longer serve as a championship race as the Bluegreen Vacations 500 at ISM Raceway will instead be the championship race.

Julio Olmo
About Julio Olmo 175 Articles
All things sports brought to you by The Voice of One! A mixture of sports history with current events seen through my eyes...Courtesy Nuts & Bolts Sports.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.